Elevators.

Hey guys! 🙂
So it’s finally thursday, (my favorite day of the week. 🙂 )
I had a french test today which totally kicked my ass. I had this whole paragraph wrote up before my test, but when I got to the actual test, i had no idea what I had written! I had to write specific things, like relative pronouns, verbs in the simple future tense… etc. & like, I don’t even know what that stuff means in english. Honestly, if somebody asked me to write a paragraph including these things, I would have NO idea how to do it or where to start. Really.  Ugh, french tests.

Anyways, while I was on my way to french class to DO my test, I got inspired to do a blog about probably my absolute favorite thing about going to a huge school – and that is the elevators. There are elevators ALL over the place, due to the fact that obviously, we need to be accessible to everybody. Strangely enough, we’re not that accessible to everybody. While there IS  way to get to all the main parts of the school without having to go outside, I would hate to have to find a route to all of my classes that didn’t involve ANY stairs, whatsoever.  First of all, to get OUT of my residence dorm, I have to go down four flights of stairs. There are only elevators in two of the houses on campus.  (out of  FOURTEEN.) But I digress.

I’ve been enchanted with elevators since I was about five years old, at my aunt and uncle’s wedding. My cousins and I spent about an hour riding from the first floor to the tenth flor and all the floors in between while all the adults were doing their boring speeches. The walls were golden and shiny, and I could not believe that you could just press the button and arrive at a new floor! This was the same night that I became enchanted with vending machines. (I grew up in a small town, okay? It was the first time that I had seen a vending machine that sold food!) I’ve never been one for escalators, I’m actually really afraid I’m going to fall down one. I also see them as cheating stairs. They make you FEEL like you’re doing something good, but not really. They’re also a breeding ground for germs. I never touch the rails.

Elevators, however are like a teleportation device to me. I love the way that you just get in them, wait in a tiny room for a little while and then just appear somewhere totally new, just in a matter of seconds! Sometimes, I wish that elevators like the ones in Harry Potter were possible – zooming up, down, left, right and diagonal at the speed of light. My friends all call me weird and lazy for my love of elevators, but I really don’t care.

So anyways, I realized first semester exactly how many elevators are in the university (there’s a LOT) and I’ve also brought myself to use them…  a lot. Even to the extent that I’ve started plotting routes around campus where I can use all elevators to get where I want to go! It’s become a little bit of an obsessive game.

The best elevator is one that doesn’t squeak too much, doesn’t smell like mechanical burning, doesn’t take forever to get to your floor, and doesn’t make you get that lurching feeling in your stomach. My personal favorite elevator on campus would have to be the one in the inco innovation center – I use it even if I have to go up only one floor.

Does this not look like a building that would have an AWESOME elevator!?

This photo also makes my school look a LOT cooler than it actually is. Trust me, as soon as you get into the tunnel, you would not being to imagine that this photo was ever possible.

As you may be able to tell from this picture, the elevator is encased in granite, and the floor and walls are made from granite and glass. It’s awesome. It has a spiral staircase going around the elevator, which is also made from granite. I usually detour to this building just because of how nice it is opposed to the rest of the buildings around.

Why today is awesome:

  • Tonight, Brandon is coming over! I’m really glad that we’re going to get some alone time together. 🙂 I love spending time with Kayla,  but I don’t feel like I’ve seen as much of Brandon as I would have liked this week, so tonight should be nice.
  • I had a wonderful pasta from Mrs. Vanelli’s today! I’m pretty sure it’s the first time I’ve ever had something from there that was actually HOT and not just re-heated. It was so good, I’m still full!
  • I figured out how to get live TV on my phone last night when I couldn’t get to sleep!
  • Cupcake of the day  is wild rice muffins!
  • I also cleaned up my room! I’m going to be doing a blog about my room sooon.

xx!

Kristen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

