room tour!

Most of this post was written on friday, and I don’t really want to go back and change it all, so here it is!

I’m feeling sick today, so I thought that today would be a good day to skip the makeup to let my skin rest. I had to get up early this morning because I had a job interview at 10:00 AM, and my parents needed me to drive them to work so that I could have the car for my interview. However, the weather was really bad, so school ended up getting canceled until third period, so my dad was able to bring me to my interview. Between the time that my dad woke me up at 6:45 and went back to sleep until 9:00, I had a really strange dream that my mom was the old lunch lady and she and my dad had divorced. She lived in a trailer ever since I went to university, and my brother didn’t even exist. I came in one day to my “mom” and the “gardener” just standing in the porch, waiting for me to come in. It was REALLY REALLY strange!

Anyways, I got up pretty early this morning to get ready for that. I did a bit of makeup (basically what I did for the Don Cherry’s interview),just so that I looked presentable, but I washed it off as soon as I got home. I feel so exhausted, and I’ve been getting up early a LOT lately. So after I got home today, I cleaned up the kitchen, cleaned up my room, and then watched the hills all day long.

As you may or may not know, I’m unofficially moved out of residence for good! I have a couple things that I need to go back and get, but for the most part I am done done done with residence, which is both a good thing and a bad thing at the same time, I suppose. I was so excited for residence before I first moved there. One day while I was walking through the square one bright, sunny day I realized why. You know when you see the pictures of residence where it’s a beautiful day, people are out on the lawn playing guitar, everyone is multi-cultural, everybody is best friends?

You know, the pictures that look like this:

And everybody is best friends, like this: NO. That doesn’t happen.
Okay, okay. yes, it does happen, but I do NOT EVER remember any of the houses looking as pretty as they do on the website, and I certainly don’t remember seeing people out lying on the ground studying and playing guitar with their best friends from eight different nationalities, each wearing a different house shirt.

I had a good year with my friends, and making new friends but I really don’t think that residence was really what I envisioned it as. There are very few people that you will talk to that are like “oh yeah! I’m best friends with every single person in my house!” I mean yes, there are SOME, but nobody gets along with EVERYBODY in their house, the way that they do in Hogwarts.

I think in the back of my mind, I sort of envisioned myself in a house where everybody was together all the time, everybody was best friends, there was no drama, everybody did their homework at the same time so that everybody could get help… etc.

Obviously, I was in some sort of naive dream land called Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, because that’s not really what it was like at all.Although now that I think about it, I think I would have been even worse off at Hogwarts, they share a room with SEVEN other people. There would be nights where I would get so annoyed with the amount of my stuff and my roommate’s stuff all over the floor that I would just drop EVERYTHING and clean up right away. Don’t get me wrong, I loved living with my roommate (lubsyah, Kayla!) , and I wouldn’t want to live with anybody else, but living in residence to me was sort of like living in the mall. Yes, your friends are all there and everything is super convenient, but there’s nowhere that you can go that’s YOUR space, you know?

Nevertheless, I’m really glad that I spent this year in residence. I met a lot of people that I wouldn’t have met otherwise, and I’ve strengthened relationships with people that I probably would have drifted apart from. I had a lot of good learning experiences on how to get along with other people and how to make the best of any situation, it being good or bad. I also think that it was a really good way to transition myself into living away from home. I have a lot of good memories in residence, and it did make me really sad to move out, but at the same time, I have some not-so-good experiences that I’m going to be glad to move away from (ie; sharing a bathroom and random ketchup on my door.)

SO, as promised, I’m going to do a room tour of my residence room. I’ve never ever put pictures up of my room before, not even on Facebook, so this is its debut! This was right before I started taking everything down to pack away to bring home, so I guess I’m going to have to do an updated room tour, after I paint my room this summer.  Really, there’s not that much to see. It’s pretty small, but I enjoyed making my half my own. 🙂 On many occasions I told Kayla that living in our room was sort of like living in a camper – your bed is also your sofa, and it’s comfortable enough, but it gets a little frustrating when everything has to have an exact place to function as an everyday workspace. Seriously, we had a very strict routine to each day – which is good, I guess, but just strange. For example, we had to open the window and turn the fan on EVERY NIGHT, even in the middle of January!  Anyways, we had a good year together, so here is just a glimpse of how we lived!

This was the view from the door. The side with all the colors is mine! Kayla was gone for the weekend, so I didn’t take pictures of her side… although it looks pretty much the same as mine. We both had those Christmas lights – I’m pretty sure we put up our lights and started listening to Christmas songs RIGHT after Halloween.

This is my desk/vanity/nightstand/dinner table/coffee table. I LOVED the colorful bins that Kayla picked up for me at dollarama! It’s sorted from top to bottom: Electrical cords and school stuff, misc. things that I didn’t have a place for, makeup that I use sometimes and then makeup that I use every day.  Apparently I didn’t have my 88 shimmer palette in this picture, because if I did it would have been right under my hairbrush (it didn’t fit in the bins!) I felt quite clever when I found a way to plug ALL of my appliances in at the same time and still somewhat hide the cords.

Books, DVDs, Picture Board (which doubles as a cupboard door – all my dishes are behind it!), and other various decorative things!

My closet! Kayla and I had the novel idea of putting curtains accross the closet in order to make it look more presentable.

Another view of my bed. I love the poster of NYC.

So yeah! that’s pretty much it… as you can tell it’s kinda small, but we had an eventful year. Lots of memories, it was fun. =) I don’t regret it.

Unfortunately, unlike many people, I am two exams away from officially being finished my first year of university, so I better go keep studying, but I just wanted to post this entry!

xx,

Kristen

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

